Watching and Re-watching Shows Part #2

POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD

Buffy the Vampire Slayer & Angel

Well, I am now on season 4 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and we have started consecutively watching Angel Season 1 at the same time to make sure that my boyfriend can understand all of the crossover episodes. Well, I will say that I still don’t like Faith at all, she has low emotional intelligence and whatever happens to her is her own darn fault. There, I said it – throw all of the tomatoes at me you want. I know she has a huge fan base, but she’s just not for me. Also, because this time I didn’t miss the episode where Oz cheats on Willow with Veruca – I can understand why he suddenly disappears and she falls for another. I also really like the Willow/Tara relationship dynamic in the beginning before they get together. It’s sad that Willow ends up using magic to mess with her a bit after a while. Willow is still a favorite character of mine and the one that I can relate to. Though I find myself relating a bit more to Anya now and I don’t know if that is good or bad. LOL! The Anya/Xander relationship dynamic is great as well. I am glad that they end up staying together. I’ll also tell you that I do like Riley, he is just truly trying to do what he thinks is best. He works for the Initiative thinking he is doing something good and then Prof. Walsh goes and completely screws it all up. I know many people don’t really like Riley, but he is a good shoo in for Angel. Yeah yeah, Angel can’t be replaced because he’s Buffy’s first love but with what all happened, I have come to terms that they can’t stay together. I also can’t wait to re-watch how they flesh out Spike through the rest of the series. I absolutely love Spike in season 4, he is serious and also comical at the same time and he does great balancing the too. The crossover with Angel dealing with the jewel of Amara was fun to watch again. “And I’m all out of that nancy boy hair gel I like so much”. Speaking of Angel, I watched the entire first season of Angel when it aired on TV and I am surprised how little I remembered some of the episodes. It was also sad seeing Doyle go again, he’s so lovable from the very beginning – but that is Joss Whedon for you. He gives you time to fall in love with a character and then just takes them away. (I’m still sad about Wash!)

Supernatural

I told my boyfriend about this show and recently started Netflixing it for him to watch. Well, he pretty much ended up getting absolutely hooked on the show. I watched the first and second season when they aired on television but stopped after that because I just didn’t have time to watch TV anymore being a college student and all. I do still feel that what I watched was really good and I realized that again while watching the entire first season over again. I have been very surprised that some of the episodes I don’t remember even though I know I watched them when they came on TV. The episodes I did remember though, still freak me out. Like the “Bloody Mary” episode, I used to play that game with some of my friends in elementary school. So it really freaked me out the first time I watched it, I had trouble looking in the mirror. I felt the same way when I watched it again – I couldn’t look in the mirror. I also think it’s a great “guy” show, so it’s a good choice for my boyfriend. I mean he’s been enjoying Buffy, but when the main character is female – I am sure it’s hard for him to necessarily relate to her. When this show centers around two brothers, I am sure he can actually relate a little better. One thing I really enjoy about the show is that it doesn’t just focus on demons or vampires but all things supernatural or paranormal. I even get episodes about ghosts, and I love a good ghost story. They even take things from actual myths or folklore, like the Wendigo and a White lady. So all in all, I enjoyed the first season the first time I watched it and I am enjoying it the second time around.

Stargate Atlantis

I am now on season 3 of Stargate Atlantis now. I’ll admit the first time I tried to watch the show, I had a really hard time getting into it. I mean I love Stargate SG-1 and to me, Atlantis was no SG-1. I had grown to love O’Neil, Sam, Daniel, and Teal’c – that by the time I tried to watch Atlantis, the characters just didn’t grab me as much. The premise to the show is great, they get stuck on the lost city of Atlantis and they are having to fight to survive against an alien species known as the “Wraith”, that will suck the life force out of you with the palm of their hand. I’ll say that for me compared to SG-1, the show is still a little shaky for me but I have gotten into it a lot more than I was previously. I will say that my favorite characters are McKay and Beckett. Rodney McKay is great, he’s brilliant and comical and can always manage to get out in a fix. Beckett, well I love his accent and he is able to hold his own among the crew. He even works more on a retrovirus to turn the Wraith human. I also really like Ronin and Tayla and their relationship dynamic, they both can relate to each other. I also love how Ronin makes sure to protect when it seems that she is being threatened, even though she does a pretty good job at taking care of herself. Now Micheal is in the picture and I am curious to see where the storyline goes with him. I’m a bit of a sci-fi nerd so I recognized the actor (Connor Trineer) that plays Micheal from Star Trek: Enterprise. It’s just plain weird seeing him as a Wraith! Oh, and I am not sure how I feel about Sheppard, he is growing on me a little – but he is no O’Neil. On an off note: The wigs that they put on the Wraith kind of bother me, they look so fake – like doll hair.

Leave a Reply

