Watching & Re-watching Shows #1

So I decided to start posting about the shows I am watching and re-watching. So they are both new and old to me. [Spoilers ahead, if you haven’t seen the show]

Buffy the Vampire Slayer:
Since I have moved recently I have been re-watching Buffy: The Vampire Slayer. It’s re-watching because I watched the show when it originally aired, though once it hit a few seasons I ended missing episodes from time to time. So the impressions that I have had of all of the characters were from the mindset that I had when I was younger. It’s odd how when your mindset changes, you can handle the characters in a differently. We are in the middle of Season 3 now, there about. The last episode we watched was “Dopplegangland“. So when I started on Season 1, I got into it just as I had before. Season 1 is a favorite of mine because they are introducing the characters and especially because it has that great Joss Whedon feel to it. I loved everybody in this season: Buffy, Willow, Xander, Giles (though I always always loved Giles), and even Cordelia (she used to get on my nerves from time to time). Oh, and even Mr. Broody pants Angel is great in this season. Giles and Ms. Calendar were back together again and if only they would have been able to stay that way. ;_;

Then into season 2 we went, I remember watching this season when it aired and I was hooked big time (so much so that I dressed up like Drusilla for Halloween)! I started my love for vampire lore in the 6th grade, and I loved having a show based around vampires to watch. Not only did we have vampires in it but demon lore too. I loved being able to see Cordelia grow as a character from Season 1 to Season 2. Also, Oz gets introduced and I feel like he was a good match for Willow and getting her a little bit out of her shy state. Spike is introduced in all of his snarky glory, I love his attitude when he first comes before he gets “vampire neutered” so to speak. Drusilla is introduced and she is great even though she is clearly insane. My boyfriend hated her, he couldn’t stand her. I remember having a hard time swallowing the second half of the season because it turned angsty all of a sudden. I mean, Buffy’s vampire lover goes evil – what’s to expect? I hated Angelus the very first time I watched it, I just wanted it to be over with! This time, I thought he was a great enemy (though I still hate him for Ms. Calendar! Grrrrr!). He had a good sense of humor and he played with his victim’s minds. Much akin to my own vampire character – Aharon, though I would say that Aharon is a lot more intimidating looking over the years. Lol! I loved seeing Willow start to embrace magic again, though I know what path it will eventually lead her. Ms. Calender’s untimely end really upset my boyfriend and it was hard on me and my room mate to not mention what happened to her. The whole time he was rooting for Ms. Calendar and Giles to get back together. It was sad. 😦

Season 3: Willow was the character I relate to the most when it comes to how I was in high school: smart, bookish, shy, and people just walked all over me. I am a Willow fan and have always been but I admit that I don’t like her as much in later seasons when she begins to misuse her magic. It’s interesting seeing Willow in her vampire form in “The Wish” and “Dopplegangland” because they are so different. My room mate and I are back in our battle over Faith. She called it my and her struggle over whether Faith was a good character or not. When Faith is introduced I thought to myself, well maybe I was wrong with Faith, maybe she isn’t as bad of a character as I thought, I could give her a chance. The bam, I was instantly reminded why I hated her so much. She is a loose cannon, she stabs Buffy in the back, and then decides to stab everyone else in the back while she is at it. Which is hilarious because at the beginning of the episode I got ganged up on by two of my friends, one of them saying “How could someone not like Faith?”. Then during that episode she stabs Buffy in the back, tries to strangle Xander, and then stabs everyone else in the back too. Ummmmm, why don’t I like her….. can’t you tell? Oh, and Wesley is introduced too – I love Wesley. The first time I watched it, I hated Wesley he was too stiff and a wuss. After seeing him in Angel, I loved him – he’s great!

Okay, that’s it for this post – I’m planning on writing a post on the rest of Buffy, Stargate: Atlantis, and Supernatural soon.

Leave a Reply

